Le Pli Catastrophe (The Fold Devastates) is a sound installation which aims at plunging the visitor into the contemplative expectation of a phenomenon of rough break. It is about a speculative attempt : share physically a mysterious moment. A distance which we can only imagine. A phenomenon which – well that perceived – is not perceived in itself, but through its collateral consequences. Le Pli Catastrophe is a metaphor of our civilization.

The fold, the infinity of viewing/listing points which characterizes the Baroque paradigm is a key concept which brings me to ask the following question : by approaching a perfect point of harmony, an ideal balance, do we also approach a chaotic abyss? A state of fragility such as the slightest gap would cause the destruction?

Described as the precarious stage of the morphogenesis, the metastability is this paradoxical state from which the mathematician René Thom invents the typology of the 7 elementary disasters. The fold, and the gather are two of them.
It is interesting to notice that the theory of R.Thom has never being popular in real scientific context of application, due to the lack of being able to serve as tool to quantify or predict exactly the rough changes of the ecosystem or the human beings. So, this is why his works brings much more interest for peoples working on philosophy and fundamental mathematics fields.

In my own work, the interesting part in this theory is the desire to make the physical experience. To understand the genesis by questioning territories of senses which are out of the scientific rationality field.

The switch

The Switch is a machine “that machinize” breaks of states. In its simplest form, its behavior is binary. In contemporary computing, this type of behavior is omnipresent. But what the computing does not handle, it is what is present between two discreet said states. So, the interstice not existing, the treatment is not made between 0 and 1. But either 0, or 1.

What realy interests me is the hypothesis of a materiality of what exists “in between”, and the temporal progress to reach there… From when pass we exactly from 0 to 1 ? Of what nature is the substance which separates the moment or the mechanical action is going to make tip over the material towards another state?

This space-time relationship which we can only imagine would be – according to a definition of the inframince concept by M.Duchamp – the sliding ” of a quality in its opposite, from convex to concave, from male to female, from space to time […] “.

This hunting of the infinite point of break constitute the vertebral column of my topic : the disaster.
The decomposition of the catastrophic scenario modelled in the present work is established in three different states :

  1. The stable state (ended)
  2. The metastable state (infinite)
  3. The break state (transient disaster)

Tag(s) : |



You may also be interested in :

Le Pli Catastrophe est une installation sonore qui vise à plonger le visiteur dans l’attente contemplative d’un phénomène de rupture brutale. Il s’agit d’une tentative spéculative : faire partager physiquement un instant mystérieux. Une distance que l’on ne peut qu’imaginer. Un phénomène qui — bien que perçu — n’est pas perçu en soi, mais à travers ses conséquences collatérales. Le Pli Catastrophe est une métaphore de notre civilisation.

Le pli, l’infinité des points de vue/d’écoute qui caractérise le paradigme Baroque est un concept clef qui m’amène à poser la question suivante : en nous approchant d’un point d’harmonie parfait, d’un équilibre idéal, ne nous approchons nous pas également d’un précipice chaotique ? D’un état de fragilité telle que le moindre écart provoquerait la destruction ?

Décrit comme le stade précaire de la morphogenèse, la métastabilité est cet état paradoxal à partir duquel le mathématicien René Thom invente une typologie des 7 catastrophes élémentaires. Le pli, et la fronce sont deux d’entre elles.
Il est intéressant de constater que la théorie de R.Thom n’a jamais reçu d’application réelle dans le domaine scientifique, faute de pouvoir servir d’outil pour quantifier précisément les changements brutaux de l’écosystème ou des êtres humains. Ainsi, c’est du côté de la philosophie et des mathématiques fondamentales que ses travaux ont suscités le plus d’intérêt.

Ce qui anime un intérêt pour cette théorie est le désir d’en faire l’expérience physique. D’en comprendre la genèse en interrogeant des territoires du sensibles qui échappent à la rationalité scientifique.

l’interrupteur

L’Interrupteur est une machine à “machiner” des ruptures d’états. Dans sa forme la plus simple, son comportement est binaire. En informatique contemporaine, ce type de comportement est omniprésent. Mais ce que l’informatique ne traite pas, c’est ce qui est présent entre deux états dits discrets. Ainsi, l’interstice n’existant pas, le traitement s’effectue non pas entre 0 et 1. Mais soit 0, soit 1.

Ce qui m’intéresse est précisément l’hypothèse d’une matérialité de ce qui existe “entre”, et le déroulement temporel pour y parvenir… À partir de quand passons nous précisément de 0 à 1 ? De quelle nature est la substance qui sépare le moment ou l’action mécanique va faire basculer la matière vers un autre état ?

Cet espace-temps que l’on ne peux qu’imaginer serait — selon une définition de l’inframince par M.Duchamp — le glissement « d’une qualité à son contraire, du convexe au concave, du mâle à la femelle, de l’espace au temps […] ».

Cette chasse au point indivisible de la rupture constitue la colonne vertébrale de mon propos : la catastrophe.
La décomposition du scénario catastrophique modélisé dans l’œuvre présente trois états distincts :

  1. L’état stable (fini)
  2. L’état métastable (infini)
  3. L’état de rupture (catastrophe transitoire)

Tag(s) : |



Vous pouvez aussi être intéressé par :